SAMPLE
Parent/Guardian Permission Form for p.a.p.a.

TEACHER INSTRUCTIONS: This form may be downloaded (.doc) and adapted according to your
district’s needs. Permission is required only for students under 14 years of age. If a parent does not
allow the student to participate, it is the local district's decision to determine an alternative activity. The
following are suggestions of alternative activities:
- Give a library or computer lab research assignment on a related subject and send students to
the library or lab during that time.
- Give an interview assignment about family and have students create the questions at this time.
- Switch students with another teacher.
- Have a guest speaker on careers that will speak to the students in another room about health,
fithess, or other related topic, and have students write a report about their personal goals.

Dear Parent/Guardian:

The purpose of this letter is to inform parents/guardians that their child’s health class will
include a unit on the legal realities, financial and emotional responsibilities, and life
impacts of becoming a parent. The Parenting and Paternity Awareness curriculum
(p-a.p.a.) includes the following topics: financial costs associated with having a child, special
legal issues when a child is born to unmarried parents, legal roles and rights of parents,
child support, healthy relationships, and relationship violence prevention. Parenting and
Paternity Awareness (p.a.p.a.) is not a sex education curriculum. Content in the p.a.p.a.
curriculum is designed for students in middle school and high school. You are invited to
browse the curriculum videos, handouts, and goals on the Texas Attorney General’s
webpage. www.texasattorneygeneral.gov. (Click on Child Support and then p.a.p.a.)

If your child is under 14 years of age, your permission is required for him or her to
participate in the unit that includes p.a.p.a. Teaching p.a.p.a. in health class and obtaining
parent permission for students under 14 years of age conforms to the Texas Education
Code; Section 28.002.

If you choose to remove your child from the classroom during this unit, there will not be a
penalty on his or her grade, but your student will be given an alternative activity during the
class period.

Please fill out the section below and return form by: [Enter due date]

I, (print parent/guardian name), give my child

permission to participate in the Parenting and Paternity Awareness (p.a.p.a.) unit.

Parent/guardian signature Date
Thank you,

[Add teacher information]


http://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/

