Update for Texas Administrative Agencies from the 87th Legislative Session

presented by Anna Mackin Special Counsel, Senate Redistricting Committee Senior Attorney, Senate Jurisprudence Committee SB 1225 Suspending PIA Responses During a Catastrophe

- Governmental entities may suspend responding to PIA requests for 7 days by filing a "catastrophe notice" with OAG's Open Records Division.
- During COVID-19, some governmental entities filed multiple such notices, blocking access to information for long periods.
- SB 1225 amends Government Code Chapter 552 to specify that PIA suspension during a catastrophe:
 - is available only when the catastrophe directly causes the inability to comply with the PIA;
 - is allowed only once per catastrophe, with a single extension possible (for a total maximum extension of 14 days); and,
 - is not available when governmental bodies are required to work remotely but can still electronically access requested information and otherwise respond to PIA requests.

SB 282 Prohibiting Use of Public Money to Pay Sexual Harassment Claims

- Prohibits state agencies from using appropriated money to settle or pay a sexual harassment claim against
 - (1) an elected member of the executive, legislative, or judicial branch;
 - (2) a person appointed by the governor to serve as a member of a department, commission, board, or other public office within the executive, legislative, or judicial branch of state government; or
 - (3) staff of (1) or (2).

SB 800 Updating Agency Reporting Requirements

- The 79th Legislature required the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to prepare a study of all required agency reports, including an assessment by the entities receiving each report of the report's usefulness.
- SB 800 streamlines agency reporting requirements by repealing obsolete reports, reducing frequency of some reports, and redirecting some reports to relevant recipients.
- Be aware of any impact on your agency/client(s).

HB 1493 Remedies for Use of an **Entity Name** Falsely Implying Government Affiliation

- Current law prohibits registration with the Secretary of State (SOS) of an entity name falsely implying governmental affiliation.
- HB 1493 established two paths to prevent use of an entity name falsely implying governmental affiliation. A governmental unit may—
 - Sue for a statewide injunction against the entity's use of the name. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 150C.002.
 - Submit a written request to SOS stating why the name falsely implies governmental affiliation. Bus. & Comm. Code § 5.065.

HB 1493 Remedies for Use of an **Entity Name** Falsely Implying Government Affiliation

- On receipt of a written submission under Bus. & Comm. Code § 5.065, SOS will assess the request in consultation with the OAG.
- If SOS determines the name falsely implies governmental affiliation, it must notify the entity, which has 60 days to respond.
- Within 90 days after SOS determines a name falsely implies governmental affiliation, the entity must cease using the name and file an instrument with SOS amending the entity name.
 - If the entity fails to do so, OAG can sue for injunctive relief and attorney's fees in Travis County district court.
- Relief is available for 8 years after SOS accepts a filing instrument with an entity name falsely implying government affiliation.

HB 1927 Permitless Handgun Carry

- Makes it legal for any person 21 or older to carry a handgun, either concealed or openly in a holster, in a manner consistent with state and federal law without first obtaining a handgun license, provided the person—
 - is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm; and,
 - has not been convicted of certain offenses within the preceding five years.
- Concealed handgun licenses remain available through DPS, and license holders enjoy certain benefits including—
 - reciprocity with other states; and,
 - ability to carry at additional locations.

HB 1927 Permitless Handgun Carry Under HB 1927, a person who does not have a handgun license but is not otherwise prohibited by law from carrying a handgun may not carry "in the room or rooms where a meeting of a governmental entity is held, if the meeting is subject to Chapter 551, Government Code, and if the entity provided notice as required by that chapter." Penal Code § 46.03(a)(14).

- Prior to HB 1927, this was the rule for those *with* a license to carry.
- Now, a person with a valid handgun license may carry pursuant to that license at government open meetings. Penal Code § 46.15(b)(6).

HB 1927 Permitless Handgun Carry

- Private buildings and businesses may still prohibit handguns.
 - They must post notice under Penal Code §§ 30.06 (concealed handguns) and 30.07 (openly carried handguns).
- This does not apply to property owned or leased by a state agency or a political subdivision of the State—

"a state agency or a political subdivision of the state may not take any action, including . . . the provision of notice by a communication described by Section 30.06 or 30.07, Penal Code, that states or implies that a license holder who is carrying a handgun under the authority of this subchapter is prohibited from entering or remaining on a premises or other place owned or leased by the governmental entity unless license holders are prohibited from carrying a handgun on the premises or other place by Section 46.03, Penal Code, or other law." Gov't Code § 411.209(a).

Questions?