
OUR
 mission 

To assist in the compassionate 

and effective delivery of crime 

victim services by offering 

information, resources and financial 

assistance to crime victims and the 

organizations assisting them.

Primary Prevention programs are designed to help communities change 

the culture that supports sexual violence. These goals are accomplished 

by providing funding and technical assistance to sexual assault programs 

including nonprofits, governmental entities, local sexual assault centers and 

the state association. 

TEXAS VINE
The Texas Legislature allocated resources to the Office of the Attorney General 

to facilitate the implementation of a statewide automatic victim notification 

system. In response, the OAG certified a technology company to work directly 

with Texas counties to implement and maintain the system, known as Texas 

VINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday).

Texas VINE provides victims and concerned members of the community with 

up-to-date information about offenders’ county jail custody and/or court 

status, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and 365 days a year. Information 

is transferred from participating county databases to the national VINE 

Communications Center.

Users register with the VINE service by calling (877) TX4-VINE/(877) 894-8463 

or by logging on to www.VINELink.com. Registered users are then contacted 

automatically by phone or e-mail. Trained operators are available at all 

times, and users can also check on status anytime by phone or by logging 

on to the Web site.

To find out if Texas VINE is available in your county, contact your county sheriff 

or district/county attorney’s office. VINE is meant to be used as a notification 

tool and not as a guarantee. Crime victims should always contact local law 

enforcement and advocates for emergency assistance and safety plans. The 

Victim Services Division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice also 

provides information to crime victims on the status of state prison inmates 

via the TDCJ toll free number: (800) 848-4284. 
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	 CRIME VICTIM 
	 services division

The Crime Victim Services Division consists of the Crime 

Victims’ Compensation Program; Policy Planning and 

Program Development; the Address Confidentiality 

Program; the Sexual Assault Prevention and Crisis 

Services Program; and Texas VINE.

Crime Victim Services Division

P.O. Box 12548, MC 011

Austin, Texas 78711-2548

(800) 983-9933 Statewide

(512) 936-1200 in Austin

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov

	 CRIME VICTIMS’
	 compensation program

If you are a victim, you may be eligible for reimburse-

ment of certain out-of-pocket expenses related to the 

crime. Please visit our Web site or call for information 

and an application form.

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 12198, MC 011

Austin, Texas 78711-2198

(800) 983-9933 Statewide

(512) 936-1200 in Austin

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov
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Rebuilding lives damaged by the emotional, physical and financial aftermath 

of violence takes courage and determination. Victims, families and com-

munities can receive assistance in this effort from programs in the Crime 

Victim Services Division of the Office of the Attorney General:

•	 Crime Victims’ Compensation Program

•	 Planning, Policy and Program Development

•	 Address Confidentiality Program

•	 Sexual Assault Prevention and Crisis Services Program

•	 Texas VINE (Statewide Automated Notification System)

The Texas Legislature passed the Texas Crime Victims’ Compensation Act in 

1979 with the intent of encouraging greater public cooperation by assisting 

innocent victims who have no other means of dealing with the financial 

losses associated with crime. The Act creates the Compensation to Victims 

of Crime Fund with revenue that comes primarily from criminal court con-

victions. The Fund represents public policy at its best, from criminal fines 

and fees – funds are made available for victims of violence most in need.

The Act also establishes the Crime Victims’ Compensation Program within the 

Office of the Attorney General and authorizes the Office of the Attorney General 

to use appropriations from the Fund for grants and contracts supporting victim-

related assistance. (The Texas Crime Victims’ Compensation Act/Texas Code of 

Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56, Subchapter B.)

crimes involving vehicles are also covered including DWI and failure to stop 

and render aid.

Applications & Questions  Every law enforcement agency and prosecu-

tor’s office in Texas is mandated to provide victims with information about 

the Crime Victims’ Compensation Program. Hospitals and medical centers 

may also provide applications.

Applications can be obtained directly from the Crime Victims’ Compensation 

Program by calling (800) 983-9933. Staff is available to answer questions and 

to provide assistance in completing the application. Applications and informa-

tion are also available on our Web site at www.texasattorneygeneral.gov.

Note:  A victim of sexual assault who receives a forensic sexual assault examination is 

not required to submit a Crime Victims’ Compensation Application for reimbursement of 

forensic sexual exam costs. TCCP, Ch. 56, Art. 56.06 requires a law enforcement agency to 

pay for the forensic sexual assault examination.

PLANNING, POLICY
and Program Development

The Planning, Policy, and Program Development function provides support 

and assistance to the OAG and its many divisions in carrying out the agen-

cy’s mission and fulfilling legislative mandates. The OAG administers $34 mil-

lion per year in grants and contracts as authorized by the Texas Legislature. 

Programmatic expertise supports the eight victim assistance programs 

authorized by the Texas Legislature and other legislative mandates by:

•	 Providing content and practical experience 

•	 Conducting research and evaluation to provide a basis for cost-ben-

efit analysis and setting direction on victim and grant related issues

•	 Facilitating coordinated support for programs 

•	 Enhancing statewide planning, policy and program development 

ADDRESS CONFIDENTIALITY
Program (ACP)

With increased public access to personal information, there is a rising need 

for address confidentiality for victims of family violence, stalking and sexual 

assault. The Texas Address Confidentiality Program provides a substitute 

crime victim

services

division

address and mail forwarding service for these victims and members of their 

household. ACP is a safety tool and a portion of an overall safety plan. It is not 

a witness protection program or a guarantee of safety. By law, applicants 

are required to meet with a local domestic violence shelter, sexual assault 

center, law enforcement or prosecution staff member to discuss a safety plan 

and to enroll in the program. To get contact information for local shelters, 

please access the Texas Council on Family Violence Web site at www.tcfv.org 

or call the National Domestic Violence Hotline at (800) 799-SAFE. To contact 

local centers, access the Texas Association Against Sexual Assault Web site at  

www.taasa.org or the National Sexual Assault Hotline at (800) 656-HOPE. To 

learn more about the program, go to www.texasattorneygeneral.gov or call 

(888) 832-2322 (statewide) or (512) 936-1750.

SEXUAL ASSAULT PREVENTION
& Crisis Services (SAPCS) Program

The Sexual Assault Prevention and Crisis Services program provides assistance in 

establishing Sexual Assault Response Teams (SARTs) in communities, training and 

certification of Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANEs), the development of initia-

tives for sexual assault primary prevention in communities, Advocate Certification 

for sexual assault programs funded by the OAG as well as consultation and col-

laboration with sexual assault programs.

Communities can establish a SART program by creating a collaborative 

partnership among key partners to create a local protocol for providing vic-

tim-centered response and care for sexual assault victims.  These partners 

primarily include the local sexual assault program, the healthcare facility, law 

enforcement agencies and the prosecutor’s office.

SANEs are registered nurses who receive extensive training in providing 

medical/forensic exams for sexual assault survivors. With 24-hour availabil-

ity, SANEs respond promptly and offer comprehensive, compassionate care 

to sexual assault survivors. They are trained in collecting medical/forensic 

evidence and may be called as expert witnesses in court. SANEs are certified 

in Texas through the OAG.

CRIME VICTIMS’
compensation program (CVC)

The Crime Victims’ Compensation Program assists eligible applicants by 

reimbursing costs incurred as a result of violent crime, including medical 

services, mental health counseling, funeral expenses and lost earnings. 

Collateral sources such as health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, auto 

insurance or Texas Workers’ Compensation must be first be utilized. 

Who is eligible?  To be eligible for compensation, an individual must:

•	 Be a United States resident with the crime occurring in Texas or a 

Texas resident who becomes a victim in a state or country without 

a compensation program.

•	 Report the crime to a law enforcement agency within a rea-

sonable period of time, but not so late as to interfere with or 

hamper the investigation and prosecution of the crime; and 

•	 File the application within three years of the date of the crime.

Who will qualify?  Victims of crime who suffer substantial threat of 

physical and/or emotional harm or death qualify. Dependents of victims, 

authorized individuals acting on behalf of a victim, or persons legally 

authorized, or who voluntarily pay certain expenses on a victims’ behalf 

are also eligible.

Immediate family or household members related by blood or marriage who 

require counseling may apply. An intervenor who goes to the aid of a victim or 

a police officer is eligible, as is a peace officer, fire fighter or individual who 

has a duty to protect the public and is injured in a crime.

Benefits may be reduced or denied if the victim: participated in the crime; 

engaged in illegal activity; was incarcerated at the time of the crime; know-

ingly or intentionally submitted false information; or did not cooperate with 

appropriate law enforcement agencies.

What crimes are covered?  Crimes covered are those in which the victim 

suffers substantial threat of physical or emotional harm or death. These 

crimes may include sexual assault, homicide and other violent crimes. Some 


