New hire reporting one of the many ways employers play a critical role in the child support mission.
Responsibilities of Employers
Federal and state law requires employers to report new hires and rehires within 20 calendar days from the date the employee starts earning wages.
All newly hired or rehired employees who live or work in any state must be reported. A good rule of thumb is if the employee is required to fill out a W-4 form, that employee must be reported.
New hire information received from employers is entered into a statewide registry and then transmitted to the National Directory of New Hires. The Child Support Division of the Office of the Attorney General is the designated agency for new hire reporting in Texas.
Reporting New Hires Online
You can report your new hires quickly and easily using our Employer Website portal.
- Report new employees as soon as they are hired.
- Employers reporting for the first time should submit all employees hired within the last 90 days.
- Quarterly wage reporting is NOT the same as New Hire Reporting.
- Use the same FEIN to report new hires and quarterly wage information. This reduces the possibility of receiving duplicate Income Withholding Order/Notices.
- As a multi-state employer, choose Texas as your reporting state. This is the only way the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) receives new hire information on Texas residents who may be receiving unemployment benefits and working for a multi-state employer.
- Report online to reduce paper and postage costs, staff time and increase quality of data submitted.
- View a history of reported employees for up to 8 hours or 90 days.
- Remember to use the Employer Call Center for all your employer child support questions (800) 850-6442.