Texas law requires a $35 annual service fee on cases that involve parents who have never received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF). In addition, the Texas Legislature authorized a $3 monthly State Disbursement Unit (SDU) fee to offset costs to taxpayers to operate the child support disbursement unit.
Who will be charged a fee?
A $35 annual service fee will be charged to custodial parents who receive full-service monitoring and enforcement services. Custodial parents will pay the $35 annual service fee for each year that they receive at least $550 in child support collections. The fee will be deducted from the child support payment. The annual service fee will not be charged if Temporary Assistance for Needy Families has ever been received in the case.
The $3 monthly SDU fee is for parents who receive registry-only payment processing and record keeping services through the federally mandated SDU.
Will I be required to pay both fees?
No. The $35 annual service fee is for parents who have full-service child support cases. The $3 monthly service SDU fee is for parents who receive registry-only payment processing and record keeping services through SDU. If a parent has more than one case, and one is full-service and one is registry-only, the parent will be charged the applicable fee for each case.
Will any of the fees affect the amount a noncustodial parent pays each month?
The $35 annual service fee will not increase the amount of a noncustodial parent’s obligation. It is possible that judges may order a noncustodial parent to pay the $3 SDU fee in addition to the monthly support payment.